New objective for this blog.

Not like I need anything else on my plate at the moment, but I’ve been thinking about what to do with this blog now that I’m officially over at G4, and I’ll have some sort of gaming blog thing going on over there at some point.

I’ll still keep this one personal, with gaming cross-posts and other ramblings about life, but I think I’ve found a new driving force. As soon as we wrap up E3 and me and the boys get settled in at the new gig, I’m going to use this space to get the Milwaukee Brewers to change their team logo.

Why, you ask?

Because the current logo:

…is boring as all get-out. And because the old logo, “Ball and Glove”:

…is one of the greatest logos not just in sports, but of all marketing (if you can’t see it, the ball glove forms an M and a B.) It just needs a modern refresh for a new era of Milwaukee baseball. With WISN’s Andy Kendeigh calling for the elimination of Retro Fridays, I get the vibe that the time is right for a grassroots campaign to take off.

The Internet can be good for this kind of stuff, so we’ll see what happens over the summer.

The first goal is to come up with a catchy name for this project. Something along the lines of “Operation <catchy name>” or “The <catchy name> Movement” that can rally support amongst Brewers fans worldwide and the local Milwaukee media.

7 Responses to “New objective for this blog.”


  1. 1 Topher May 8, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Can you believe that in 20 years of baseball fandom i never realized the m/b in the old brewes logo? Consider my mind blown. Also, i now feel like a moron.

  2. 2 Nick May 8, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    I back this idea 100%, and I’m a Twins fan now living in Wisconsin. I love the old Brewers logo! My wife and I have brought this up numerous times, they need to go back!

  3. 3 bull May 9, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    I don’t know if I have the right to say this – having moved from Green Bay to New Zealand nearly 10 years ago – but I don’t mind the new logo that much. Why? Turn it upsidedown:

    Now they’re the Wisconsin Brewers! I like that.

  4. 4 thecorrectperspective May 12, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    That Wisconsin Brewers thing is clever. I like that.

    Not as much as I like the old logo though.
    See, The Correct Perspective (based in Waukesha, Wisconsin) will gladly support your “Operation MB Mit Ball Logo Movement Operation”.
    (That’s OMMBLMO for short, or OHM BLAMMO if you wanna say it out loud, and yes, that is VERY catchy)

    Point in the direction of your enemies, Mr. Pfister, and we will gladly show them the ways of OMMBLMO.

  5. 5 Evan May 13, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    I support this mission.

  6. 6 Zach June 9, 2009 at 12:59 am

    I completely agree with you. I have never been a huge baseball fan (my first Brewers game was actually only last month), but I have always preferred the old school logo/colors to the new ones.
    I’ll spread the word of this crusade to my close buddy who works on the “Brew Crew” so we can get someone on the inside, haha.

  7. 7 Jason September 4, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    I’m the creative director for a small agency in the Twin Cities ,but grew up in WI, and I would be glad to rework this logo ever so slightly to give it an updated feel. I will say I like the current logo much better than the one that looked like it was some sort of step-sister logo of Notre Dame.


Leave a Reply

