I ? L.A.

labowski

“But then there was a lot about the Dude that didn’t make a whole lot of sense. And a lot about where he lived, likewise. But then again, maybe that’s why I found the place so darned interestin’. See, they call Los Angeles the “City Of Angels”; but I didn’t find it to be that, exactly. But I’ll allow it as there are some nice folks there. ‘Course I ain’t never been to London, and I ain’t never seen France. And I ain’t never seen no queen in her damned undies, as the feller says. But I’ll tell you what – after seeing Los Angeles, and this here story I’m about to unfold, well, I guess I seen somethin’ every bit as stupefyin’ as you’d seen in any of them other places. And in English, too. So I can die with a smile on my face, without feelin’ like the good Lord gypped me.”

And with that, I’m moving to Los Angeles, concluding over six years of residence in the San Francisco Bay Area. [JOB DETAILS RE-CLASSIFIED!]

I think it was the frequent blog posts that impressed them so much.

It is a bittersweet decision, leaving friends in San Francisco to join friends in LA, but I’m really excited about what’s going [TO HAPPEN!] — and relieved to be back [WHERE I’M GOING TO!].

More to come!  Memories!  Plans!  Pictures?  More memories!  Pleas for restaurant/bar suggestions!

Brandt will fill you in on the details…

21 Responses to “I ? L.A.”


  1. 1 Douglas April 22, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    Wow, congratulations Skip! I’m glad to hear that you’ll still be writing in this field; I consider you one of the best.

  2. 2 Samit Sarkar April 22, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    Congratulations! It’s good to see more and more former EGM/1UPers finding work. I hope to be reading about more sports games on G4tv.com!

  3. 3 Joshua O'Neal April 22, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    Hurray for Skip. If you are ever looking for a Junior Games Editor I have plenty of samples to send. I am an Astros fan, so that gives you a daily punching bag at the office. *sigh* I blame our stadium and that damn short porch in left field.

  4. 4 c.bake April 22, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    You will be most welcome…

  5. 5 parish April 22, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    I’m so glad you’ve found something that seems right in line with your interests and talents. Congratulations! We’re a poorer site to have lost you.

  6. 6 donduvall April 22, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    gratz.

    That being said, will you still have a public face out there (or here)? Will this be purely related to their online presence or will it include some writing regarding TV programming as well?

    Looking forward to what’s coming.

  7. 7 d0ug18 April 22, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    Congrats Skip! I’m looking forward to watching more G4 now.

  8. 8 shadowpraxis April 22, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    Bravo, sir! Congrats and all those other appropriate positive felicitations.

    Good to see yet another of Uncle Ziff’s orphans land on his feet. Good luck and keep us abreast of what’s going on in Skipland.

    Also, points for Lebowski intro.

  9. 9 nate April 22, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    Congrats Skip!!

  10. 10 Raf April 22, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    Good luck Skip! Glad to hear you have a job back in the games writin’ biz. Hope you can make G4 cool again.

  11. 11 NickFerg April 22, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    Now that you’re coming here you gotta drop the whole Brewers nonsense and become a fan of a REAL baseball franchise, the Dodgers! Go Blue, and good luck!

  12. 12 Aaron M April 22, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    Congratulations, sir!

  13. 13 Mims H. Wright April 23, 2009 at 12:10 am

    Congrats. I moved to LA a few months ago from NY and I fucking love it here. You’re sure to find a niche. Also, I understand Shane is here too so I guess you’re not alone.
    I’d be glad to know you if you want to meet a game programmer here.

  14. 14 Freytag April 23, 2009 at 1:23 am

    Congratulations and good luck!

  15. 15 Justin April 23, 2009 at 2:45 am

    Darkness warshed over The Dude…

    Congrats, Andrew! LA isn’t as bad as its reputation, except when it is. Basically, just avoid Hollywood. Santa Monica (where G4 studios are, I believe) is beautiful, and relatively douche-less. Will you be working with Abbie Heppe? She’s cool.

    Lemme know if you need bar suggestions. Do you like hole in the wall places? I hope so, b/c I don’t really know much about super-hip clubs and stuff. But I can point you to the bar where Tarantino got Tim Roth to read for the part of Mr. Orange in Reservoir Dogs. It has a good jukebox.

  16. 16 Andres April 23, 2009 at 7:55 am

    I’ve followed your work since I put 2 & 2 together and matched your GAF persona to your work on GMR. Then, you became the godfather of the podcasts that started my ongoing obsession with gaming podcasts. As someone who sits on the opposite side of your decision to abandon programming for writing, I’m glad to see you didn’t have to give up on your dreams.

    I used to work with Billy a long, long time ago back in the Planet Gamecube days. He’s an intelligent, driven, class-act sort of guy. I’m sure you’ll have as much fun working for him as I did. Congratulations, and good luck!

  17. 17 Michael April 23, 2009 at 9:33 am

    I hear the In-N-Out Burger in North Hollywood is pretty good. It’s on Radford…or Primrose, I can’t remember which.

  18. 18 faisalq April 23, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Congrats Skip, Hope they have you doing some podcast’s ( audio) over there cause i wouldn’t mind hearing Sessler and a bunch of the other guys over there, discussing the games without the influence of television, breathing down their necks. Again, congrats and good luck, you should hope on to one of the many podcasts that are out now ( Rebel FM, A life Well Wasted) before you head out.

  19. 19 BeyondTheD-Pad April 24, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    Congrats, like the others mention I am glad you can continue your dream, a dream that motivated me to start mine as well. Good luck!

  20. 20 Raymond April 25, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    Remember, the real reason all of this is happening is so we can start our band.


  1. 1 Top Posts « WordPress.com Trackback on April 23, 2009 at 5:59 pm

Leave a Reply

