Syllabus

Welcome to Mixed Media 379: Games and Pop Culture As Filtered By Only One Individual. I am your only T.A., as the professor recently decided to take some time off from teaching, and is currently on some sort of televised race around the world.

We shall meet irregularly on the Internet. No times will be posted. Do not be late.

Business formal attire required at all times.

Class participation is encouraged. However, unruly commentators will find themseleves promptly excused from the room, and their parents called.

Topics to be Covered

  • Video Games
  • Videogames
  • Movies
  • Music
  • Wisconsin-based Sports Teams
  • Television
  • Culinary Arts
  • Elementary Photoshop
  • The Stock Market™
  • Maths
  • Life’s Random, Crippling B.S.

and

  • Elevator Repair

Grading

Games will be evaluated on a precise scale, as devised by a special task force comprised of MIT graduate students, NASA space geniuses, and FDIC Chairwoman Sheila Bair:

scoring-system
For example:

excitebots_supersandwich

McAwesome

I deem this to be Favorable.  And this:

greysanatomy_wii_screenshotediteur_05

McHorrendous

…quite Unfavorable. But good fodder for comedy nonetheless. So maybe it’s Unfavorable.5, which actually equates to Not For Me and 7.4 on IGN.

(Review system subject to change and retroactive application without notice.)

It is my hope that you learn something in the coming days and weeks. But to be honest, you’ll probably skip out on the first nice day of spring and have a long lunch at the Pizza Hut on State St., because you’re pretty sure you can get the notes from Steve, who always seems like he enjoys taking them anyway.

14 Responses to “Syllabus”


  1. 1 okonoko March 11, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    Gold stars to the first person who can tell me how to get rid of the “Possibly related posts” nonsense.

  2. 2 Rockabye March 11, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    Pfister, I’ve been reading your stuff since the late magazine GMR. I look forward to reading this, and I’ll have it RSS’d right after this comment.

    And, sadly, I don’t think you can kill possibly related posts with free WordPress. I’ve been trying for a year or so.

  3. 3 Keith S. March 11, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    This sounds approximately 463 times more exciting than most of the real classes I’m enrolled in this semester. When is our first exam?

  4. 4 Aaron M March 11, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Excellent. I sharpened my pencil and everything.

    That may or may not be a euphemism.

    Oh, in the admin panel, go to Appearance -> Extras, and turn on the “hide related links” option. I think.

  5. 5 JD March 11, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    I love the grading system. Though I think if the opportunity to retroactively regrade anything arises, you should do so with absolutely no consideration for the spirit with which the original marks were given. Also – I notice that there is no opportunity for us to bitch and whine about the notion that you may think something is somehow “perfect.” Please make the appropriate adjustments immediately.

  6. 6 okonoko March 11, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    Gold stars to Aaron! One gold star to Rockabye for effort!

    John – I made a “PERFECT” graphic, but it’s a transparent .GIF so nobody will ever know it’s there but me.

  7. 7 Aaron M March 11, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    Please to provide the conversion key from your scale to 100-point Metacritic. GAF will require it for review-wank threads!

  8. 8 Rockabye March 11, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    I’m awarding Aaron a gold star because I just used that for my other blogs.

    I think I knew that at one point. But thanks for reminding me.

  9. 9 jp March 11, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Yay, you’re online!

    I dearly want to believe that you created this site expressly for the purpose of mocking that Gray’s Anatomy screenshot. Lordy.

  10. 10 Sammo March 11, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    Very funny with the “7.5 on IGN bit”…..”it’s funny because it’s true!”

  11. 11 Piotr March 11, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    I love you Mr. Pfister, you are my new home page.

  12. 12 G-Man March 11, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    Good ol’ Steve.

    *goes back to sleep*

  13. 13 shadowpraxis March 12, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    Bravo for giving us a new outlet for Skippage. Your presence has been sorely missed on the podcasts. :(

    Also, have been planning on using a similar (though not identical) ratings scale on my own site – review ratings (and Metacritic by extension) give me a rash that’s best not contemplated.

    Adding a link to your site, if that’s alright with you, good sir.


  1. 1 Game reviews « www.ryantroock.com Trackback on July 16, 2009 at 2:36 pm

Leave a Reply

