But Seriously

Those of you who have followed me since the GMR and 1UP.com days — when money poured down from the heavens and we coated our masthead pages in genuine 23-carat gold leaf — will know that my updating history, be it on the boards or blogs, can be kindly described as “erratic.”

Well, I’m working on changing that. After spending about two full months doing nothing from morning to night, I need a little structure to my days and an outlet for things rattling around upstairs. Hence, the blog. I’ve got some ideas for recurring features so that there’s something fresh here every day (perhaps even twice).

First one is a small collection of articles I think are worth reading. I call it “Evening Reading,” and because I only just now noticed that ShackNews calls their end-of-day article collection entry the exact same thing, I’m including them in my first one. Consider us even!

(All sunset images taken from out my apartment window.)

eveningreading_04

Coming soon: More plans, and a Resident Evil 5 back-and-forth with a good friend…

3 Responses to “But Seriously”


  1. 1 Hostile March 11, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    Good luck and have fun. You have been gone for awhile so I look forward to what you’ve got.

  2. 2 d0ug18 March 12, 2009 at 1:38 am

    Thanks for the links Andrew! I look forward to hearing your thoughts on some of these issues, especially the ‘B’ game idea. My thoughts on that are that there are people out there who like those kinds of games, but they are a small minority relative to the size of the gaming population, which is smaller than the size of the ‘B’ loving movie minority. So, it’s possible to make a ‘B’ game, but that doesn’t equate to success or popularity. At least not in the short term. Take a look at the meme “All your base are belong to us” and the fact that the RebelFM crew and Jade from 1up were twittering it up about an old school game that they recently played that was so bad that it was good. Both of those things are thought of as games to play, but at the time they came out they might have been regarded as having a low “meta-critic” score.

  3. 3 Don March 12, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    Good to see you back on the horse again. Started to get worried there for a bit.

    Nice to write feedback, twitter is too much of a one way street. Feels like voyeurism.


Leave a Reply

